Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Old Golgari Ravnica questions - Part II



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Weedmonkey



Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 324

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a note for in future, you can make the thread as long as you like. There's no need to split it. Smile

To your first question, it won't. If your opponent chooses to activate Tormod's Crypt before Plague Boiler's triggered ability resolves, Tormod's Crypt's activated ability will go on top of the stack, above Plague Boiler's. As we resolve the stack from top to bottom, Tormod's Crypt's activated ability will resolve first, which will remove whatever cards are in the graveyard at the time of the targeted player. Once the ability has finished resolving, Plague Boiler's triggered ability will then resolve, and all nonland permanents will be destroyed.

To your second question, I'm going to assume the following scenario is happening (using example cards):

(1) Opponent controls an Angelic Wall
(2) You cast Putrefy, targeting Angelic Wall
(3) In response, your opponent casts Brave the Elements, naming Black.

In this scenario, what will happen at the point Putrefy would resolve is that it is countered due to all targets of Putrefy becoming illegal. Putrefy will be placed in its owner's graveyard.

To your third question, you are correct. At the point that Grim Backwoods' triggered ability resolves, Shambling Shell is in the graveyard as it is sacrificed as part of the cost of activating the ability. Therefore, at the time the ability resolves you may dredge Shambling Shell if you wish. [/quote]
Back to top
Weedmonkey



Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 324

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A spell, when cast, will go from the zone you cast it from (which is usually the hand, but something like flashback may allow you to cast it from other zones such as the graveyard) to the stack, which is another zone. Once a spell finishes resolving, it is then placed in its owner's graveyard.

If it helps in understanding, there are normally six zones in Magic: Hand, Library, Graveyard, Battlefield, Stack, Exile. If you play a variant such as Commander, there is also the Command zone.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy