Forum Index
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Undying Flames

Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message

Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. You are not casting a spell, you are using an activated ability.
Back to top
Level 3 Judge

Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

skilless wrote:
Epic won't let you play spells but you can still use abilities so you can cycle the card. I think you can still play the flashback cost but the card will just rfg since epic won't let the spell be played.

Quick edit, unearth just returns the card to play, it's not actually playing the spell so I believe that works.

You won't be able to flashback a card with Epic on you. Flashback is just another cost and playing it from another place, but it is still play, wich you can't. The same is true for Retrace.
Back to top

Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, you have a bit of a mixed bag there. Some are activated abilities (cycle, channel and unearth) which are fine and some are alternative ways of playing spell (flashback, retrace) which are no longer allowed.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy