Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Blood Moon rules questions


Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Meatwarz



Joined: 28 Jan 2006
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol you'd better never look for rules answers on SCG, they got like zillion mistakes...noobland Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
Haro
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

st4x wrote:
this is from scg.com where they have an actual dci judge

Q: What is the interaction between Blood Moon and Urborg, Tomb of Yawgoth?

A: It depends on the order that these two permanents come into play. If Blood Moon came into play last, then non-basic lands will be just Mountains and will, therefore, only have one mana ability, which generates red mana. If Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth cames into play last, then non-basic land will have both the basic land subtypes of Mountain and Swamp and will have two mana abilities, one that make red mana and another that makes black mana. This is because you apply these two effects according to timestamp order, and Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth's effect specifies that these lands keep all of their old types, where Blood Moon does not.


So wrong, its not even funny..
Back to top
TofuBoy



Joined: 07 Oct 2005
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

st4x wrote:
this is from scg.com where they have an actual dci judge

Q: What is the interaction between Blood Moon and Urborg, Tomb of Yawgoth?

A: It depends on the order that these two permanents come into play. If Blood Moon came into play last, then non-basic lands will be just Mountains and will, therefore, only have one mana ability, which generates red mana. If Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth cames into play last, then non-basic land will have both the basic land subtypes of Mountain and Swamp and will have two mana abilities, one that make red mana and another that makes black mana. This is because you apply these two effects according to timestamp order, and Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth's effect specifies that these lands keep all of their old types, where Blood Moon does not.


This is exactly why I use Cranial Insertion or the rules forums on MTGSalvation.
Back to top
Beastinator



Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe if Urborg comes into play last, its ability works. I play in MTGO and urborg does work with moon, so it would ave to be an error by a judge as well as on MTGO.
Back to top
LoneWulf



Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I tell players in real life tourneys "MTGO is not precidence setting. It is a program and programs can have bugs."
Exerpt from MTGRules_L Digest:

Blood Moon would remove the text from Tomb of Yawgmoth - so the Tomb is
definitely dependent on Blood Moon.

So, final answer: no matter what order, with both Blood Moon and Tomb of
Yawgmoth in play, the Tomb is just a Mountain and does not add "Swamp"
to any land's sub-types.

Thanks! -- Scott Marshall <scott_j_marshall_jr@yahoo.com>
DCIJUDGE-L / MTGRULES-L NetRep, L4, Denver

No I'm not Scott. He's the one giving the answer on the list.
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok im kinda drunk so im not reading every reply but i have friends that are judges in real life and as i know it, im pretty sure that 'cant' always overrides 'can' if that makes sense to everyone... which means, if im correct, blood moon always trumps urborg, hence no such thing as all lands becoming blood crypts, sort of speak... and as the legendary rule goes... 'legendary' is a super type, which cant be impeded upon, by blood moon, or urborg, therefore if a flagstones is in play, with blood moon, and another flagstones comes into play, they both are destroyed due to the state based effect of the legend rule, however, since they are "mountains" with no abilities, you do not get to search for a "plains"..... now if anyone still complains about this on this topic, they should be shot b/c all questions have been answered pretty much, and mostly by non-judges (which have been corrected thank god)...
Back to top
allstar997



Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Another thing you might want to look out for:

If a Blood Moon is in play and you have a Legendary Land, it is still considered Legendary. So if two Legendary Lands are in play, (say Flagstones of Trokair and Pendelhaven) and a Blood Moon, they will impode upon each other.


Actually, while lands keep their Legendary supertype, they will not invoke the legend rule unless they both have the same name. And the non-basic lands' names are not changed by Blood Moon.
Back to top
aldaryn



Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 501

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Summary:

as-or-how-coming-into-play effects (shocklands or coming into play tapped) remain, but coming into play TRIGGERS (bouncing with bounceland, i.e. "when") do not trigger.

Lands lose all other land SUBtypes (Hallowed Fountain is no longer a plains or island).

Lands keep their SUPERtypes such as Legendary and the fact that they are nonbasic.

Lands also keep their name (for Legendary rule for example)

Lands lose all abilities on the text such as the static ability of Urborg.

This is all correct, right?

I'm bitter about being screwed over by this card in just about every way possible... :/

Another question: lands in hands and graveyards keep their abilities, right? It's only lands in play? (For example, the new dredge land or old cycle lands)
Back to top
Egnirys



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, if you have a "Search for a Mountain" card, can you then search for any non-basic land in your library?
Back to top
derflippi
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 1402
Location: Weiterstad

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't search for a non-mountain this way. Blood Moon affects the lands in play only. In the library, a hallowed fountain is still island,plains - not mountain
Back to top
CookieCutter



Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Location: ATL

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
And the non-basic lands' names are not changed by Blood Moon.


They indeed are. All lands in play become Basic Mountains; therefore thier name becomes Mountain.
Back to top
TD



Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CookieCutter wrote:
Quote:
And the non-basic lands' names are not changed by Blood Moon.


They indeed are. All lands in play become Basic Mountains; therefore thier name becomes Mountain.


Someone should probably read the rules before they speak.

1) Blood Moon does NOT make lands into Basic Mountains. Please read Blood Moon's oracle text (or 9th edition text). It has no impact whatsoever on the nonbasic lands' supertypes. So they're still nonbasic.
2) Blood Moon simply gives the cards the type Mountain. This has the following effects:

212.6e If an effect changes a land’s type to one or more of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses all abilities generated from its rules text and its old land types, and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type. Note that this doesn’t remove any abilities that were granted to the land by other effects. Changing a land’s subtype doesn’t add or remove any types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic, legendary, and snow) the land may have. If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, it keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains the new land types and mana abilities.

It has no effect on its name, as you can see from that paragraph.

Please read the cards and the CRs before trying to answer questions. The idea is to remove confusion, not create it.
Back to top
Trivial



Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:20 am    Post subject: Urborg + Blood Moon Reply with quote

We are lucky to have a Level 4 judge (John Shannon) here in New Mexico. This is what he said:

>If you have Urborg and Blood Moon in play, Blood Moon makes >Urborg a mountain, which overwrites all text and gives >it 'Tap: produce one red mana'. Therefore the land making >everything swamps in addition goes away.

>Just as an FYI, I confirmed this with Lee Sharpe, a rules >guru and part time official source for the judge list Wink

The MODO effect is a bug.
Back to top
Trivial



Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:21 am    Post subject: Urborg + Blood Moon Reply with quote

We are lucky to have a Level 4 judge (John Shannon) here in New Mexico. This is what he said:

>If you have Urborg and Blood Moon in play, Blood Moon makes >Urborg a mountain, which overwrites all text and gives >it 'Tap: produce one red mana'. Therefore the land making >everything swamps in addition goes away.

>Just as an FYI, I confirmed this with Lee Sharpe, a rules >guru and part time official source for the judge list Wink

The MODO effect is a bug.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy