Forum Index
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Graveyard return

Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message

Joined: 24 Nov 2012
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, they do!

When the Champions enter the battlefield they "see" the other humans enter the battlefield as well. So each Champion sees six other humans entering the battlefield and will get a counter for each of those creatures.
Back to top

Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technical correction:
No they do not enter the battlefield with the counters on them. You have them enter the battlefield as 1/1. After that their triggered ability will go off for each other human that entered the battlefield due to the angel's ability. That will be once for each of the other 5 humans AND once for the other champion.
In the end each champion will be a 7/7, but they enter as 1/1 so something like Where Ancient Threat wouldn't trigger.
Back to top

Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

He wasn't wrong. as i said, they enter as 1/1 and "see" the other enter.
They become 7/7 as a result of their triggered abilities. They aren't 7/7 right away.
Back to top

Joined: 28 Jul 2011
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pseudodespot is right but maybe a more current example would help. Say you have an evolve creature out like Shambleshark, with nothing modifying its power/toughness (so it's a 2/1). If you play angel of glory's rise and reanimate 4 champions of the parish, none of them will evolve shambleshark assuming he's still a 2/1, because they enter the battlefield as 1/1's (though the angel will probably evolve him). However, when they enter the battlefield, they see each other and their abilities trigger, so they each get three +1/+1 counters, and become 4/4's (but they still don't trigger evolve, because when they first entered the battlefield, they were 1/1's).

There's a subtle difference between a creature entering the battlefield with a certain power and toughness, or entering the battlefield, THEN triggering an ability that modifies its p/t. The former effect is called a replacement effect and the latter is a triggered ability. Something like Prime Speaker Zegana will enter the battlefield as an x+1/x+1, but a creature like Briarpack Alpha doesn't "enter as a 5/5" if you target itself with its ability - it enters as a 3/3, then after its ability resolves, it becomes a 5/5. One difference between these two scenarios is that you can respond to the latter but not the former. You can't ping a prime speaker zegana for 1 damage before it becomes an x+1/x+1 - it already has that p/t once it's on the battlefield, whereas you could lightning bolt a briarpack alpha before its ability resolves.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy