|
Author |
Message |
wdeister
Joined: 03 Jan 2009 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:46 am Post subject: Clone Effects Thread |
|
|
Figured I'd start this as a general thread for all clone creatures since they cause so many questions for some people.
I'll ask the first question, I'm almost sure I'm right on this but I'm usually wrong so lets see.
If I use a Phantasmal Image to copy a Mirran Crusader, does it gain the CMC of the card? I.E. 3 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Terri
Joined: 23 Jan 2010 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
yes it does copy every characteristic of the chosen creature. P/T Name CMC creature types card subtypes. and it enters the battlefield in the form the copied creature would enter the battlefield. means if you copy a mutavault it will enter the battlefield as a land. any judge may correct me if i got something wrong. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sc4rs
Joined: 23 Mar 2006 Posts: 859
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
The best explanation/trick that helps you to remember that I've heard is if you literally took the card that you're copying and made a photocopy of it, that's what the Clone comes into play as. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cloysterd
Joined: 24 Jan 2007 Posts: 176
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
sc4rs wrote: | The best explanation/trick that helps you to remember that I've heard is if you literally took the card that you're copying and made a photocopy of it, that's what the Clone comes into play as. |
That's not 100% true in every situation (flip/transform cards, another Clone) but it is a good rule of thumb. For the record:
706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object's characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The "copiable values" are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by "as . . . enters the battlefield" and "as . . . is turned face up" abilities that set characteristics, and by abilities that caused the object to be face down. Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mcleetsauce
Joined: 02 Aug 2011 Posts: 39
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So am I to understand that if there is a transformed creature and I choose to copy it, it will copy the front of the card instead of the transformed side? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Clariax Level 3 Judge
Joined: 16 Jan 2006 Posts: 174
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When copying a double faced card, the copy will copy the characteristics of whichever face is up at the time the copy effect applies.
Mcleetsauce wrote: | So am I to understand that if there is a transformed creature and I choose to copy it, it will copy the front of the card instead of the transformed side? |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mcleetsauce
Joined: 02 Aug 2011 Posts: 39
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Clariax wrote: | When copying a double faced card, the copy will copy the characteristics of whichever face is up at the time the copy effect applies.
Mcleetsauce wrote: | So am I to understand that if there is a transformed creature and I choose to copy it, it will copy the front of the card instead of the transformed side? |
|
Thank you much |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
magicman85
Joined: 22 Aug 2009 Posts: 555
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Last night at my FNM we had a situation where a 4/4 Figure of Destiny was being copied by an Evil Twin. Does the Evil Twin come in as a 4/4 or a 1/1? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sebas_
Joined: 25 Nov 2007 Posts: 88
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It would be 1/1.
It copies the creature as printed. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sc4rs
Joined: 23 Mar 2006 Posts: 859
|
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
cloysterd wrote: | sc4rs wrote: | The best explanation/trick that helps you to remember that I've heard is if you literally took the card that you're copying and made a photocopy of it, that's what the Clone comes into play as. |
That's not 100% true in every situation (flip/transform cards, another Clone) but it is a good rule of thumb. |
It actually does work for transform cards as well; when you photocopy a card, you only get one side!
But point taken, and thanks for taking the time to find and paste the actual rule. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hardtrack
Joined: 10 Aug 2005 Posts: 651
|
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Copy effects do not copy status. That means that your copy will enter the battlefield untapped, unflipped, face-up (the morph variant) and phased-in. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aqualad33 Level 1 Judge
Joined: 18 Jan 2010 Posts: 272
|
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
when a token copies a card, does the token copy the cmc as well or is there a rule that specifically states that tokens have cmc 0? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hardtrack
Joined: 10 Aug 2005 Posts: 651
|
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Copy effects copy everything about a card, down to expansion symbol. Mana costs (and thus colour and CMC) is also copied. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|