Forum Index
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message

Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no it is not, even if you remove manabarbs in response the triggered abilities still resolve
Back to top

Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do something (for example, “Prodigal Sorcerer deals 1 damage to target creature or player”) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability that references information about the source because the effect needs to be divided checks that information when the ability is put onto the stack. Otherwise, it will check that information when it resolves. In both instances, if the source is no longer in the zone it’s expected to be in at that time, its last known information is used. The source can still perform the action even though it no longer exists.
Back to top

Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are likely referencing LSV's article where he says he won a game where he pooled 2 in response to the Manabarbs, then Into the Roiled it. This works because he taps the mana before it is in play, then uses the two mana in his pool to bounce it without having to tap mana after it is in play.

If you are not referring to his article, ignore this comment.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy