Forum Index
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Resolving spells

Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message

Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:55 pm    Post subject: Resolving spells Reply with quote

If i cast a spell that says destroy target land, its controller takes 2 damage and in response my opponent tectonic edges that land does he still take the 2 damage?
Back to top

Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, the land is not a legal target as the spell resolves (as it is already in the graveyard), and since the only target is the land, the spell gets countered. If the spell read 'destroy target land, target player takes 2 damage' then it would deal the 2 to him.
Back to top

Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobbob247 is right. a spell is countered on resolution only when all targets became illegal. so read the card carefully wich are targets and then you will always know what happens.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy