Forum Index
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Elspeth and Indestructible

Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message

Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 1:56 am    Post subject: Elspeth and Indestructible Reply with quote

There was almost a fight at my FNM over this situation so I figure I would ask here since I don't know the correct ruling either.

Player A has Elves out with Eldrazi Monument. Player B has Elspeth Tirel with 6 counters on it. If the Elspeth player uses the ultimate, does only the monument get destroyed and the elves stay cause they had indestructible from Monument or does everything go boom (cept elspeth, lands, tokens) ?
Back to top

Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The creatures will all live. Monument dies.

The 'destroy' effect from Elspeth hits everything at once. At the time it resolves, all of the Monument player's creatures have 'indestructible' so are not destroyed.

Unlike damage, 'destroy' effects are instantaneous and do not linger until the end of turn.

So, once the ability has finished resolving, Monument is put in the graveyard, the creatures lose 'indestructible' and anything other than creatures hit by Elspeth are also killed off.
Back to top

Joined: 16 Mar 2010
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Monument has a static Ability that makes Creatures indestructible. Elspeths activated Ability wants to destroy Monument+Elves...the point is:

Elspeth destroys all permanents at the same time. The Monument is put into graveyard after the Ability has resolved. So when the Ability resolves, the Elves are still indestructible. In simple words: Your Elves lose their indestructibility right after Elspeth did her job, a little too late Wink
Back to top

Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3rd opinion, monument dies, everything that was indestructible at the time of cast lives.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy