Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Swerve on Thought Hemorrhage



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
JSUOversoul



Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 5:31 pm    Post subject: Swerve on Thought Hemorrhage Reply with quote

Ok, let's say my opponent plays a Thought Hemorrhage, and I respond with a Swerve. I will now target my opponent with the T.H., but who now has the ability to name what card it will search for? Me or my opponent? Thanks.
Back to top
Raybelfast



Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

although swerve redirects to your opponent he/she will still name which card that the effect will search for as that is not chosen untill t.h is resolving.

presumably he/she will name a card that is not in his deck. but as part of t.h's effect he must reveal his hand to you.

making swerve a psuedo counterspell in this instance.

hope this helps
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it says on the card that player reveals the hand
Back to top
PenguinSlave



Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok while this thread is open,opponent casts negate on your lets say blightning can you play swerve on the negate,changing it to negate now counters swerve?
Back to top
SaTiVa
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 289

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

u can't make the negate target it self because spells can't target them selves but u can make the negate trgt the swerve ... then when the negate tries to resolve it would be countered on resolution because by this time the swerve has left the stack(the target for negate) and the blightning would resolve barning no other business.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy