Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Planeswalker



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Rath



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:44 am    Post subject: Planeswalker Reply with quote

My opponent announces a Garruk and it resolves.

He attempts to use the +1(Untap land) ability.

Is the +1 part of the activation or is this something I can respond to?

IE, Can I play Lightning Bolt to deal 3 to Garruk and destroy it before Garruk reaches a loyalty of 4?
Back to top
Ludz
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:48 am    Post subject: Re: Planeswalker Reply with quote

Rath wrote:
My opponent announces a Garruk and it resolves.

He attempts to use the +1(Untap land) ability.

Is the +1 part of the activation or is this something I can respond to?

IE, Can I play Lightning Bolt to deal 3 to Garruk and destroy it before Garruk reaches a loyalty of 4?


Nope, +1 is a cost, so it's paid immediately. Unless your opponent passes priority, you will never get a chance to kill it with bolt.
Back to top
MetalDuck



Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you play the Planeswalker, and your opponent allows it to resolve, priority is passed to you. From there, you can choose to use it's ability, pay the cost, and get the token, untap two lands, etc. Then the Bolt resolves, killing it.
Back to top
Acebandit



Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Akeldema wrote:
When you play the Planeswalker, and your opponent allows it to resolve, priority is passed to you. From there, you can choose to use it's ability, pay the cost, and get the token, untap two lands, etc. Then the Bolt resolves, killing it.


No, When your opponent plays the Planeswalker, and you allow it to resolve, priority is passed back to your opponent. From there, the opponent choose to use it's ability, The activation of the untapping lands ability Costs +1 Loyalty.

At this point you can no longer kill the Planeswalker with a Lightning Bolt because the Planeswalker will be at 4 counters. You can cast the Lightning Bolt in response to the ability (This is after the addition of the +1 counter) and hit 3 counters off the Planeswalker before your opponents lands are untapped, but it will not kill the Planeswalker.
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when the PW resolves if their first action is to +1 it the loyalty immediately becomes 4 and the coreesponding trigger goes on the stack.

if for some reason they play a PW and it makes a trigger like "whena permanent comes into play, gain 1 life," then you have your lightning bolt window.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy