Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

hypergenesis question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Bushviper



Joined: 07 Aug 2006
Posts: 281

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The hypergenesis must finish first, so if you put the vapors into play first, all creatures that come into play from the hypergenesis after the vapors will create a trigger on the stack that will resolve after Hypergenesis is finnish resolving. So yes, all the creatures would die after the Hypergenesis, unless that trigger was countered in some way. You might also note that you can not kill the vapors after they drop a few creatures so you can drop your creatures safely. As destroying the vapors is not part of the cost, the trigger will not resolve until after the Hypergenesis finishes resolving, thus the vapors will not die until then. Therefore, all creatures put into play with Hypergenesis will still create a vapors trigger.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The result of Bushviper is correct, but the method isn't entirely.

First, the ability that destroys the Lethal Vapors is an activated ability. To play the ability, you need priority, you can't play the ability while something is resolving, like Hypergenesis.

Secondly, and a smaller point, the creatures coming into play will trigger Lethal Vapors, but the trigger won't be 'created on the stack', there is no such thing. When something triggers the game simply remembers that and the triggered ability will just wait in limbo until someone would gain priority. The triggered abilities will not go on the stack yet. It doesn't change the outcome in the least, but you do get to stack all the triggers created during the resolution of Hypergenesis any way you want, because of this.
Back to top
mickg42



Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this stuff was stated by a level 3 judge, so hopefully its correct:

When Hypergenesis resolves:

Both players alternate putting creatures into play, but their triggered abilities don't stack yet while Hypergenesis is still resolving

After Hypergenesis resolves, the Legend rule (e.g. Akroma or Karrthus) happens BEFORE stacking triggered abilities (e.g. those from Angel of Despair, Bogardan Hellkite, Karrthus)

After stuff dies to the Legend rule, stack the triggered abilities in AP NAP order, NOT timestamp order (this is important -- the ordering of playing creatures is only for psychological mind-game purposes, it doesn't affect the game state one bit). Each player stacks all their abilities at once and names them in the order they choose (AP then NAP)

Triggered abilities resolve NAP then AP

What this basically means is that the AP resolves last, so you want to go-off first if you are going for Karrthus, since he's the trump card and you get the "last Karrthus resolution" if there's multiple Karrthus (this actually happened in one of my games).
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You remembered all of that correctly. That's exactly correct.
Back to top
mickg42



Joined: 03 Aug 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2009 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just in case

AP=active player
NAP=non-active player
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy