Pauper Magic Rules and Clarification

Written by derflippi on December 22, 2008


Next weekend, Magic-league hosts a Pauper-Magic Master.


The purpose of this article is to give you an official reference about this unusual format for the tournament (and all other Pauper tournaments on magic-league).


The basic rule of Pauper Magic says that only Commons are legal. This obviously exludes Uncommons, Rares and Timeshifted cards from the decks.


Unfortunately, not all cards like Sakura-Tribe Elder have only one rarity. There are plenty of cards which not only appeared in several sets, they also have different rarities!


To be legal in a specific Pauper format, a card has to exist as a Common in any of the legal sets in the format.

Let me give you a few examples: -

Tribal Flames exist as a Common (Invasion) and as a timeshifted card (Timespiral). This means it is only legal in formats where Invasion is a legal set. It would not be legal in Standard-Pauper.

-Ornithopter exists as a Common in Antiquities, but has been printed as Uncommon only since then. This means it is not leal in Standard-Pauper, Extended-Pauper but can be played in Legacy-Pauper

-Chromatic Sphere exists as an Uncommon (Invasion) and as a Common (Mirrodin). Since it appeared as a Common in an Extended legal set (Mirrodin), it is legal for Extended-Pauper.

-Chromatic Star exists as Common (Timespiral) and as an Uncommon (10E). Since it appeared as a Common in an Extended legal set (Timespiral), it is legal for Extended-Pauper

-Mogg Fanatic exists as a Common (Tempest) and as an Uncommon in 10E. It's not legal in Extended-Pauper, since it has not appeared as a common in an Extended legal set.


Extended Pauper is the format of the next Master. This means a card is only legal if it appeared as Common in any of the Extended legal sets (Onslaught, 8th until Shards of Alara).

Also, the normal Extended ban list applies:

-Aether Vial, Disciple of the Vault, Skullclamp and Sensei's Divining Top are banned.


Additionally to these bannings, Magic-league also applies Pauper-specific ban of

-Cranial Plating for balancing reasons.


I hope I could give you a good overview about this format, and that you can enjoy playing the upcoming Master. If there's any questions, ask in the comments of this article or in #judges4you, our irc channel for rules questions.


Back to Magic: the Gathering Articles

Comments:
by FlyingFreak on 2008-12-22 15:53 CET

Pauper-Magic Master wow, nice :p


by TugaChampion on 2008-12-22 16:14 CET

so the artifact lands aren't restricted?


by derflippi on 2008-12-22 16:19 CET

artifact lands are legal 4x


by Socks3 on 2008-12-22 18:22 CET

Ouch. Well, I guess affinity lost enough as is. I played one, I won 2-0 in what should have been a bad matchup for me.


by Poopsack2 on 2008-12-22 18:52 CET

The master! Why not have it be a trial to see if people even like it?


by Socks3 on 2008-12-22 19:03 CET

We've had quite a few minis today already. It seems we like it. I know I like a format where I don't have to worry about Bitterblossom.


by TripleSix on 2008-12-22 19:34 CET

newb question... so we can't use any cards from timespiral?


by FlyingFreak on 2008-12-22 19:36 CET

why not? We can use all the commons from Timespiral TripleSix ..


by Socks3 on 2008-12-22 19:42 CET

Just not any with purple expansion symbols.


by trueeevil on 2008-12-22 22:09 CET

Tribal flames is not legal in extended pauper as invasion rotated out.


by trueeevil on 2008-12-22 22:09 CET

double post


by FlyingFreak on 2008-12-23 12:10 CET

by trueeevil on 2008-12-22 23:09 CET

Tribal flames is not legal in extended pauper as invasion rotated out.


................................................

Tribal Flames exist as a Common (Invasion) and as a timeshifted card (Timespiral). This means it is only legal in formats where Invasion is a legal set. It would not be legal in Standard-Pauper.


................................................

He didn't said that it was legal in extended ...


by derflippi on 2008-12-23 18:45 CET

trueevil is just stating the obvious once again :)


by Acid_Christ on 2008-12-28 02:05 CET

You ban Cranial Plating but not Trinket Mage or Momentary Blink. Seems to me not much effort was put into this "balancing".


by derflippi on 2008-12-29 22:10 CET

blink is easily beaten, cranial plating isnt


All content on this page may not be reproduced without written consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


Contact Us | Privacy Policy
Join Swagbucks!