Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Multiple is redundant but is it allowed



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Bad_Karma20



Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 3:14 pm    Post subject: Multiple is redundant but is it allowed Reply with quote

I have a question about multiple instants of an affect such as first strike. Now I know that if a spell were to give a creature with first strike first strike it is redundant, as the rules state, therefore nothing really special just still has first strike. My question is, is it allowed to play such an instant to play an ability on a creature that already has that ability, I.E. the first strike.
Back to top
Alandariel



Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 217

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, for instance you can use Accelerate to give a hastey creature another instance of Haste. Just the same as you can choose to deal zero damage with Blaze... etc... it just doesn't do anything.
Back to top
AlexTrebek



Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on the situation too. It's allowed but can be used as a stall tactic which isn't legal. If someone gives their creatures a ton of instances of first strike with 20 minutes left in the round and then concedes, allowed. If someone gives their creatures a bunch of instances of first strike, using two minutes between each to force a draw, not allowed.
Back to top
TugaChampion



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 615

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well you can always do that to achive hellbent or to increase the storm count so in those situations even if there's only a few minutes left in the round you can do that because you're trying to achive something.
Back to top
AlexTrebek



Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, if you're trying to achieve something other than a tie in a hopeless situation.
Back to top
Bad_Karma20



Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info. ya''ll. I appreciate the responses. Ya'll just help me end a argument...lol I win.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy