Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Saffi Eriksdotter



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:37 pm    Post subject: Saffi Eriksdotter Reply with quote

Someone once told me that it's possible to sacrifice shambling shell targeting itself (to avoid fetters etc.). While that doesn't really matter I 'm wondering if it's true and if the same thing applies to saffi eriksdotter. I doubt it would work because that would mean that wizards printed a card that can flicker for no mana, but i just want confirmation.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Sacrifice Saffi Eriksdotter: When target creature is put into your graveyard from play this turn, return that card to play."

that doesnt work b/c, the activation cost is to sacrifice him, then the ability goes onto the stack. as part of the resolution of the ability, you are targetting a creature in play... its pretty much a sacrifical adarkar valkyrie's ability that only target your own creatures, if that makes a little more sense to you
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can the creature that is targetted by eriksdotter be returned multiple times or does it "wear off" after it hits the yard once?
Back to top
Buffalo_Wing



Joined: 01 Dec 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
"Sacrifice Saffi Eriksdotter: When target creature is put into your graveyard from play this turn, return that card to play."

that doesnt work b/c, the activation cost is to sacrifice him, then the ability goes onto the stack. as part of the resolution of the ability, you are targetting a creature in play... its pretty much a sacrifical adarkar valkyrie's ability that only target your own creatures, if that makes a little more sense to you


Wrong. Completely wrong. Targets are chosen before costs are paid. Also, guest #3, the creature can't be returned multiple times, as it is considered a new object when it returns from a graveyard to play.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

saffi can target herself but when the ability resolves it fizzles.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Buffalo_Wing, while you're correct, you also are implying that it's possible to use Saffi to bring itself back. The rest of the people are correct in their statements that it can't bring itself back, if not their comprehension of how activated abilities work.

The order of effects is:

1) Declare targets for the ability. At this point, you can declare any legal target in play. Saffi is a perfectly legal target for its own ability.

2) Pay costs. In this case, Saffi is sacrificed.

3) Ability goes on the stack.

4) Chance for responses, etc.

5) Once the stack is clear and both players pass priority, the ability starts to resolve. First, it checks targets again to make sure the target is still legal. It is at this point that the ability fizzles, because Saffi is no longer in play for its ability to legally target itself.

This makes nearly every creature ABLE to target itself, however, the ability will not fully resolve. So if your opponent targets your Plagued Rusalka with a Lightning Helix (or Saffi, as the example here is given) you can sacrifice it targeting itself to prevent your opponent from gaining three life.

However, the ability won't fully resolve, so if you sacrifice Lyzolda, the Blood Witch targeting itself, you will not draw the card (to make this awful example work, here's a terribly convoluted situation: your opponent uses Lightning Helix on your Lyzolda on their turn and you only have one card, a Demonfire, left in your deck, but if they gain the life they'll be out of Demonfire range. The correct play is to target Lyzolda with its own ability, so the ability fizzles, you don't draw the card and deck yourself, and your opponent doesn't gain the three life, then you draw Demonfire and win.)
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lmao @ example given with lyzolda and demonfire, but you are correct in what you say....
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

quick question, saffi, a random creature that can sac itself for random effect, soul warden, does it give u infi life? or the returning effect only applys once.
Back to top
ElvishGuest
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
quick question, saffi, a random creature that can sac itself for random effect, soul warden, does it give u infi life? or the returning effect only applys once.


the returning effect only applies once.

MrPaTRicKMaN wrote:
another saffi question. if another creature is killed by a spit second effect, say sudden death. saffi can't bring that creature back can it?


No, it cannot. You may not respond to Sudden Death with anything, including Saffi. Also, if you sac Saffi targetting some creature, and they respond with Sudden death on that creature, the creature dies, along with Saffi.
Back to top
brainjohn1
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can respond with mana abilities. Like if someone sudden deaths your BoP u can tap it for mana.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy