Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Old Golgari Ravnica questions - Part I



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Weedmonkey



Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 324

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To your first question, you can. For triggered abilities that trigger when a card leaves the battlefield, their existence prior to the card changing zones is used. When Savra is sacrificed, her existence on the battlefield before being placed in the graveyard is used, and both of her triggered abilities will trigger (this area isn't the easiest of concepts, so don't sweat the explanation too much Smile ).

To your second question, you cannot sacrifice Shambling Shell whilst it is still on the stack. If your opponent were to cast something like Shock targeting Savra before Shambling Shell resolved and entered the battlefield, you would have to rely on something else to save Savra.

To your third question, if you ever control two or more legendary permanents with the same name, you choose one to keep on the battlefield and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is not a sacrifice, and so Savra's abilities will not trigger.

To your fourth question, Bloodbond March will only trigger when you cast a creature spell. A creature entering the battlefield will not trigger Bloodbond March.
Back to top
Weedmonkey



Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 324

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In regards to anyone on this forum saying creatures don't use the stack, they are most definitely wrong. Creatures are cast as spells, just like instants, sorceries, enchantments, artifacts, and planeswalkers. Turning a creature face up via the morph ability is not the same as casting a creature spell, which may be one area of confusion (turning a morphed creature face-up is a special action, which does not use the stack)

If your opponent uses something to kill Savra before Shambling Shell resolves and enters the battlefield, there is no point where you can sacrifice Shambling Shell to trigger Savra before Savra dies.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy