Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Grim Affliction on a creature with +1/+1 counters



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Stunseed



Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is correct. The spell will finish resolving before state based effects are checked.
Back to top
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The options you have here are the following:
1. Add an additional +1/+1 counter.
2. Add an additional -1/-1 counter.
3. Do nothing
Note you can only do nothing if you DON'T choose the creature with counters on it.

State-based actions are checked only before a player would recieve priority. The next point a player would recieve priority is after Grim Affliction resolves. During the resolution of it, all counters remain and one of those types can be proliferated. You cannot chose to add both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy