Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Damage Rule



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
LuckyDucky



Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damage does not use the stack anymore. Therefore you cannot do what you suggest.

http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/42a

Quote:
510.2. Second, all combat damage thatís been assigned is dealt simultaneously. This turn-based action doesnít use the stack. No player has the chance to cast spells or activate abilities between the time combat damage is assigned and the time itís dealt. This is a change from previous rules.
Back to top
derflippi
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 1402
Location: Weiterstad

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note that it was possible to do this until ~2.5 years ago.
However, with the set "M10", rules about combat (among others) changed significantly.

Back then, I summarized the important changes in a news post on magic-league.com (ML)

http://www.magic-league.com/article/475/summarizing_the_probably_most_relevant_rules_changes_of_m10.html
Back to top
LuckyDucky



Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voracious Cobra does not have deathtouch (now a static ability which applies automatically upon damage with no chance to respond. Rule 702.2), so it's ability still triggers upon the first strike damage.

If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike, an extra combat damage step will be used for the first strike creature(s).

Quote:
506.1. ... There are two combat damage steps if any attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4).

(First damage assignment is announced)

(Second, damage is applied with no chance to respond, i.e. it does not use the stack)

510.3. Third, any abilities that triggered on damage being assigned or dealt go on the stack. (See rule 603, ďHandling Triggered Abilities.Ē)

510.4. Fourth, the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.

510.5. If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.


An interesting note, Voracious Cobra is actually worse under the new rules than the old.

Under the old rules, it could apply 1 damage to each blocker (in parallel) and they would all be destroyed.

Under the new rules, damage must be applied in series to blockers, i.e. lethal damage must be assigned to the first blocker before any damage can be assigned to the second blocker. Therefore, if the first blocker has more than 1 toughness, Voracious Cobra will only kill the first blocker absent any other spells and abilities.

Quote:
509.2. Second, for each attacking creature thatís become blocked, the active player announces that creatureís damage assignment order, which consists of the creatures blocking it in an order of that playerís choice. (During the combat damage step, an attacking creature canít assign combat damage to a creature thatís blocking it unless each creature ahead of that blocking creature in its order is assigned lethal damage.) This turn-based action doesnít use the stack.


Since deathtouch damage is considered lethal, an attacking creature with deathtouch may assign damage however the active player wants. This is sort of an exception to 509.2.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy