Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Helm of Obedience + Blightsteel Colossus



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:39 pm    Post subject: Helm of Obedience + Blightsteel Colossus Reply with quote

Player 1 controls a Leyline of the Void and a Helm of Obedience. He activates his Helm of Obedience for X=1.

Player 2 has a Blightsteel Colossus in his deck.

What happens?
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Helm of Obedience will not be sacrificed. Replacement effects completely replace the event, so no card will ever actually go to the graveyard. This also means that X cards never go to the graveyard, so Helm of Obedience will continue to mill the top of Player 2's library until there are no cards left.

The Blightsteel Colossus has two replacement effects trying to do two different things to it. The owner of the card that is being affected can decide in which order to apply the effects. Player 2 can exile it or shuffle it into his or her library.

This is not an infinite loop as Player 2 can choose to exile Blightsteel Colossus at some point.


CARDS:

Variable Colorless, Tap: Target opponent puts cards from the top of his or her library into his or her graveyard until a creature card or X cards are put into that graveyard this way, whichever comes first. If a creature card is put into that graveyard this way, sacrifice Helm of Obedience and put that card onto the battlefield under your control. X can't be 0.

---

If Leyline of the Void is in your opening hand, you may begin the game with it on the battlefield.

If a card would be put into an opponent's graveyard from anywhere, exile it instead.

---

If Blightsteel Colossus would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, reveal Blightsteel Colossus and shuffle it into its owner's library instead.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy