Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Multiple Oath of Druids



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:44 pm    Post subject: Multiple Oath of Druids Reply with quote

On my upkeep, if I have 2 Oath of Druids out (and no creatures) and my opponent has 1 creature out will I be able to resolve both Oath of Druids triggers or will the second one fizzle after the first one resolves?
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After the first one resolves, there will be no opponent to choose with more creatures than you, so the second will not "work".
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oath of Druids' ability is targeted. The target must be legal at the time the ability goes on the stack to be chosen as a target, and must be legal on resolution for the ability to resolve. Both abilities go on the stack at the same time, so the opponent with 1 creature is a legal target for both. When the second one goes to resolve, you'll (presumably) control the same number of creatures as your opponent, so the ability would be countered on resolution. If something happens between the first one resolving and the second one resolving to change the number of creatures so your opponent now has more than you again, the second one will resolve just fine.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy