Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Spellweaver Volute and Pyromancer Ascension



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, there is only every one instant card. It's either in the graveyard or on the stack. It can't be in both at the same time.

A card is not considered 'cast' until the last step of casting it. The first step is moving it to the Stack.
Back to top
G0ND412



Joined: 18 May 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hardtrack: you make a copy of the card

the card is still in the graveyard at the time you cast the copy so pyro will trigger
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eh... did he add the text later or did I really just glance over it? I don't know how I missed that. In that case, yes, the Pyromancer's Ascension will trigger and add a counter.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The trigger of Pyromancer Ascension will not even go on the stack until after Spellweaver Volute is done resolving. But it will go on the stack and doesn't recheck anything, so you'll get your counter, even though the Lightning Bolt is no longer in the graveyard.
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should check out http://magiccards.info/query?q=!Spellweaver+Volute

this website is usually pretty helpful with complicated rules.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy