Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Control question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Lynolf



Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:55 am    Post subject: Control question Reply with quote

Situation 1: I gave my opponent a Raging Goblin with Zedruu the Greathearted earlier in the game. Now I cast Insurrection. Who controls the Raging Goblin at the end of the turn?

Situation 2: I cast Mind Control on a Raging Goblin my opponent controls. Then he casts Threaten on the Raging Goblin. Who controls it at the end of my opponent's turn?

Mr. Green
Back to top
JSUOversoul



Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe the key words in both situations are "until end of turn". Situation 1, you gave an opponent the creature, they now control it. Insurrection's effect ends at end of turn, so its controller, your opponent now, should regain control at end of turn. Same thing with Mind Control. You control the creature with Mind Control, Threaten's effect ends at end of turn, so if the Raging Goblin is still alive at end of turn, you get it back.

Someone please correct me if what I said is wrong, I really don't mind!
Back to top
zebo_88



Joined: 12 Sep 2005
Posts: 123
Location: Phyrexia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this control stuff work with timestamp. so, when i mind control my opponent's creature the mind control's effect stands over the previous control state, and if another control effect affects the creature, it will work over the mind control. then if one effect ends, the most recend effect in timestamp order starts taking effect. so JSUOversoul is absolutely right.
Back to top
Lynolf



Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 546

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to both. I thought that would be the situation, though I still wanted to check. Mr. Green
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy