Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hero of Bladehold + Exalted



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Miqo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:07 am    Post subject: Exalted + Hero of Bladehold Reply with quote

I'm not a judge, but...

702.80a Exalted is a triggered ability. “Exalted” means “Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.”

They both trigger when the creature, Hero of Bladehold, is declared as the only attacker. It's pretty obvious you can get both the Exalted effects on the attacking creature and the attacking tokens.

506.5. A creature attacks alone if it’s the only creature declared as an attacker during the declare attackers step. A creature is attacking alone if it’s attacking but no other creatures are. A creature blocks alone if it’s the only creature declared as a blocker during the declare blockers step. A creature is blocking alone if it’s blocking but no other creatures are.

That means the creature "attacks alone" even though it's not "attacking alone" after the tokens are created. You, as the controller of both triggers, choose the order they stack in etc.. If "Exalted" was worded so that the creature must be attacking alone upon the resolution of the trigger there'd be reason to doubt this (and you'd have to order the triggers properly), but as it is, there is no interference between the two triggers.


Last edited by Miqo on Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Xerocious



Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

exalted checks when you declare attackers.
since you declare one attacker exalted triggers and boosts your hero.
Back to top
Trivial



Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:11 pm    Post subject: Really? Reply with quote

I get how the Hero would get Exalted, but why would the tokens? I don't think the tokens count as "that creature."

Of course, the tokens get the Hero's +1/+0 bonus if stacked appropriately . . .

Jeff
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No matter how you stack it, the Hero will get the Exalted bonus. The tokens do not get any Exalted bonus. The tokens get the Battlecry bonus though.
Back to top
maps



Joined: 04 Apr 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

702.80a Exalted is a triggered ability. “Exalted” means “Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.”

They both trigger when the creature, Hero of Bladehold, is declared as the only attacker. It's pretty obvious you can get both the Exalted effects on the attacking creature and the attacking tokens.


How is it obvious the tokens trigger exalted?
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Exalted

Quote:
Some effects put creatures into play attacking. Since those creatures were never declared as attackers, they're ignored by exalted abilities. They won't cause exalted abilities to trigger. If any exalted abilities have already triggered (because exactly one creature was declared as an attacker), those abilities will resolve as normal even though there may now be multiple attackers.
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hero gets Exalted trigger. The tokens do not. The tokens will not receive battlecry unless you resolve the battlecry trigger last.

One creature attacks- thus exalted triggers. The specific rules text is very clear.

Other similar situation, Hero of Bladehold cannot trigger Windbrisk Heights. Only 1 creature ATTACKED even though you have 3 attackers.
Back to top
Miqo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:04 am    Post subject: Re: Exalted + Hero of Bladehold Reply with quote

Miqu wrote:

It's pretty obvious you can get both the Exalted effects on the attacking creature...


Reading is tech.
No-one said the tokens would get buffed by the Exalted trigger (or triggers if there are multiple permanents with Exalted in play).
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:55 am    Post subject: Re: Exalted + Hero of Bladehold Reply with quote

Hopefully this can be cleared up before the random flaming gets out of hand and the topic needs to be locked. (If the point of your comment in this forum is to tell someone else they can't read, or can't write, or anything remotely similar to that, it doesn't belong here)

Miqu wrote:


It's pretty obvious you can get both the Exalted effects on the attacking creature and the attacking tokens.


It seems there's some (understandable) misunderstanding about this sentence. It can be read as:

It's pretty obvious you can get both (1) the Exalted effects on the attacking creature and (2) the attacking tokens.

or:

It's pretty obvious you can get both the Exalted effects on (1) the attacking creature and (2) the attacking tokens.

Miqu meant the first one, but the second one is also a perfectly reasonable way to interpret the sentence.
Back to top
Miqo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:31 am    Post subject: Re: Exalted + Hero of Bladehold Reply with quote

Clariax wrote:

Miqu meant the first one, but the second one is also a perfectly reasonable way to interpret the sentence.


Glad we got that sorted out.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy