Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wilt-Leaf Question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Bande



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:26 pm    Post subject: Wilt-Leaf Question Reply with quote

Probably an old question but if my opponent has 5 cards in hand and chooses to discard Wilt-Leaf Liege in response to my Esper Charm does it come into play becaue it was "caused" by my Esper Charm or does it go to the graveyard because he chose Wilt-Leaf Liege and hence I did not "cause" it?

Thanks Smile
Back to top
DARKING
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It will enter play. Esper Charm is controlled by you, wich are your opponent's opponent.

Also, he does not discard it "in response". Esper Charm resolves, he discard 2 cards, and when he discards the liege, it will be put into play instead of the graveyard.
Back to top
x1134x



Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, it doesn't say "when a spell or ability causes you to *HAVE* to discard it. . ." just if the opponent controls the spell or ability that causes the discarding, not causes the choice. Regardless of what they choose, you caused them to discard it. . . .
Back to top
Bande



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Smile
Back to top
DaveK



Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's a queer question
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy