Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Regeneration



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
jazzbat



Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regeneration is a replacement effect that replaces the creature being put into a graveyard from play due to lethal damage or a 'destroy' effect. All counters, etc. remain on the creature when it is regenerated.
Back to top
stone_d
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

regenerate:
the nex time this creature would be destroyed this turn, tap it. Remove alll damage from it and remove it from combat.
Back to top
ACM
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since the last post wasn't very friendly to finding out exactly how it works, here is the Comp Rules paragraphdedicated to it:

419.6b Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. The word “instead” doesn’t appear on the card but is implicit in the definition of regeneration. “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage from it, tap it, and (if it’s in combat) remove it from combat.” Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, lets be a little more thorough and use Drudge Skeletons as an example.

You can play the regeneration ability of the Skeletons at any time. All you have to do is pay one black mana.

What happens when the ability resolves is that the Skeletons get a 'regeneration shield'. It's a replacement effect that hangs around until either the Skeletons get destroyed (and it is used up) or the turn ends (and it simply goes away).

If something would destroy the Skeletons and they, at that time, have a regeneration shield, the replacement effect steps in and replaces the creature being destroyed with it being tapped, removing all damage from it and removing it from combat.

So instead of going to the graveyard because somebody played Assassinate on it or it blocked a 5/5 and received 5 damage, it stays in play, but it is tapped, all damage is removed from it and it is removed from combat.

Since it never leaves play, it keeps all counters, Aura's, effects applied to it, etc.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy