Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

river kelpie



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Firebelly



Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:11 am    Post subject: river kelpie Reply with quote

does the draw effect just work with cards with retrace and persist and flashback? or does it work when you animate a creature with mannequin or puppeteer clique?

it says spell, so i didnt think it would count for animation from the gy but i figured i would ask
Back to top
ProsekDan



Joined: 18 Feb 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:17 am    Post subject: River kelpie Reply with quote

Yes, it works with cards as mannequin or puppeteer clique also because of Kelpie's other ability which triggers when permanent is put into play from grave.

Please, read whole cards before posting another questions.
Back to top
Firebelly



Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for being sure to throw a dick remark in there
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when ever you ask a question just reread the card before, most of the time people just misread cards when the ruling is obvious.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

River Kelpie.

When you play a spell from the graveyard (Flashback, Retrace, Haakon, Stromgald Scourge, etc.) his second ability triggers and you draw a card.

When you put a creature (or another type of card) into play from the graveyard (Persist, Makeshift Mannequin, Puppeteer Clique, etc.) his first ability will trigger and you draw a card.

This of course only works if River Kelpie is in play.

And please, be friendly when you answer questions. Maybe he misread the card, maybe he misunderstood, maybe he's very new at Magic, it doesn't matter, just answer the question or don't post.
Back to top
KeySam



Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 649

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ Hardrtack both abiltiies read a bit different:

Whenever River Kelpie or another permanent is put into play from a graveyard, draw a card.(dont has to be a creature, and it doesnt matter whos graveyard it was and whos the controler).

Whenever a spell is played from a graveyard draw a card.(you also draw if your opponent retraces or flashes back).

Thought just its better if we get those things straight.
Back to top
derflippi
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 1402
Location: Weiterstad

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WHat KeySam wants to say:
minor edit to whats been said:
Kelpie triggers regardless where the spel/permanent comes from. (which gy)
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, I missed it triggers for any player and any graveyard. The rest of the answer stands, though.
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you have trouble remember all of them, the shortcut is:

if it leaves the grave yard and hits the STACk or PLAY... draw a card. that will hold true for every card i can think of.
Back to top
oldmac



Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so why is soul snuffers in most of the decklists?
is there any hidden interaction or what?
i mean since it puts -1/-1 counter on creas they wont come back via persist....
Back to top
Ggerg



Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oldmac wrote:
so why is soul snuffers in most of the decklists?
is there any hidden interaction or what?
i mean since it puts -1/-1 counter on creas they wont come back via persist....


no, it's just good.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy