Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question regarding Gargadon in Rev


Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
icenine



Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:15 pm    Post subject: Question regarding Gargadon in Rev Reply with quote

If you have a suspended Gargadon and a body double targeting Rev can you sac the body double to the Gargadon infinite times to either unsuspend the Garg, gain infinite life with riftwatcher in grave, or infinite cards with mulldrifter in grave? I'm thinking yes, but I want to make sure.
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

erm how else do you think the combo works?
Back to top
icenine



Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just making sure
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it works basically like this:
gargadon = suspended
lark in yard, body double in play (anything else in yard u want to combo with)
body double is a lark, obviously
sac double to gargadon, "remove a time counter from GG" goes onto stack first, then lark's ability onto stack, resolve lark and bring back body double + xxxx (we'll say aven riftwatcher for this case)
body double targets lark again, you gain 2 life, "remove time counter from GG" still on stack, responding by sac'ing aven + body double to GG
rinse and repeat... infinite life with aven, infinite draw with drifter, infinite bounce with venser, and infinite damage with redcap
Back to top
WaMMaSaNDe



Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keep in mind that you don't have to play crappy Aven Riftwatcher to gain infinite life, Kitchen Finks works just fine and is playable MD.
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ur an idiot u cant gain infinite life with finks
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gypsy wrote:
ur an idiot u cant gain infinite life with finks

You are right that you can't use Kitchen Finks in the combo (the power is too high). That's no reason to be calling people names.
Back to top
BusDriver



Joined: 28 Jan 2006
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aven is easier to cast and works vs fae
finks is def sb, aven maybe main maybe sb
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you're playing the combo deck, most ppl play aven main board for infinite and finks sb for xtra life if going up against a very very fast aggro deck.. finks is a nice +4 life and blocks twice buying you some time to setup normally
Back to top
IgnisFatuus



Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, you can can infinite life with Finks...

If you have Finks, Body Double, Reveilark, and a suspended Gargadon....

Get Finks in your yard and copy it with Body Double, when Body Double comes into play, you will gain 2 life. You can then sac the Body Double (copying Finks) to Garg, and the Double will persist back into play with a -1/-1 counter. When it comes back into play, Body Double should copy Rev. Then you can sac the Body Double (copying Rev, with a-1/-1 counter) and then return the Body Double to play with Revs ability. When Body Double comes back into play this time, you should copy the Finks again, gaining 2 more life. Rinse and repeat infinite times. (Of course, all of this is done with Gargadon's abilities on the stack.)
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you 100% sure that when body double (as finks) get's sac'd, it comes back as a persisted finks or as a body double again?
Back to top
twodioz



Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it comes back as a persisted body double, so it becomes a lark again... if you want it to.
Back to top
IgnisFatuus



Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm 100%. Body Double comes back into play with a -1/-1 and you can copy any creature in the yard.
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok thank you for the clarification, and therefore, it will work with finks as well as aven then (just hope your opponent understands how it works too)
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just confirm, that does work. Persist returns the Body Double with a -1/-1 and you can copy any creature in the graveyard.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy