Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Trickbind



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Rith54154



Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:08 pm    Post subject: Trickbind Reply with quote

Can you trickbind/stifle something like Pithing Needle or Body Doubles "As *This* Comes into play" ability? Also, could you hit Revillark's "When *This* leaves play"?
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can trickbind when something says when or at, but not as it comes into play as that is not a trigger. you can trickbind reveilark
Back to top
kfcman



Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 733

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can only trickbind triggered abilities, and activated abilities. Activated abilities are the form of Cost : Effect.
Triggered abilities like gypsy said start with the words When, Whenever or At.
Back to top
TugaChampion



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 615

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Activated abilities are the form of Cost : Effect.


Just to clear something: the cost can be paying mana, tapping (both the Tap arrow or simply saying tap and untapped something), sacrificing something, discarding a card, paying some life or even nothing at all. Old cards used to have a 0 before those but new ones have nothing.
Back to top
Thorns



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 863
Location: Rath

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TugaChampion wrote:
Quote:
Activated abilities are the form of Cost : Effect.


Just to clear something: the cost can be paying mana, tapping (both the Tap arrow or simply saying tap and untapped something), sacrificing something, discarding a card, paying some life or even nothing at all. Old cards used to have a 0 before those but new ones have nothing.


Just want to add that returning something to its owner`s hand can also be a cost.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy