Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Timing Question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
ACM
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds correct Very Happy
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is the correct way for your opponent to pal that, yes
Back to top
R3wind



Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 1386

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have another timing question. Player A has a Seal of Primordia (spelling???). Player B casts Pithing Needle and sets it to the seal.

Can player A sac the seal in response to CIP Pithing Needle to destroy the Pithing Needle that was set to the seal?

I understand that while the Pithing Needle is on the stack you could sac it to destory something other then the Needle on the stack.
Back to top
kj_4247



Joined: 15 Apr 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 12:49 am    Post subject: as vs when Reply with quote

No. You can't sac it to kill the needle because needle says "AS it comes into play" which means by the time pithing needle is in play you can't use the seal's ability. If it said "when it comes into play" then you could respond when that ability triggers.

Since you can't target the needle before it is in play that doesn't work.

You can sac the seal while the needle is still on the stack but only to kill something thats actually in play.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy