Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Daybreak Coronet Academy Researcher



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
BuddhaStalin



Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was cold outside, so I put on my sweatshirt!
Back to top
kfcman



Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 733

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, you're not enchanting the research (targetting and attaching), youre simply putting it on.
Back to top
cloysterd



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My understanding is that because an unenchanted Researcher isn't a legal target for the aura, it can't enchant it for the same reason you can't use Consecrate Land to make it indestructible.
Back to top
kcaccidental



Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. While there are no targeting issues (since you are not targeting anything), state-based effects will be checked once the Daybreak Coronet is attached to the Researchers, and the Coronet's restriction will send it straight to the graveyard.

EDIT: From Gatherer:

"You can't put an Aura card from your hand into play this way if that Aura can't legally enchant Academy Researchers. For example, you can't put an Aura with "enchant land" or "enchant green creature" into play attached to Academy Researchers (unless Academy Researchers somehow turned into a land or a green creature before the ability resolved)."

So, you can't put it on in the first place, and even if you could, SBE's would cause it to fall off.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can only put an Aura on something if it can legally enchant it. If you play Retether with a Pacifism in the graveyard but the only creature is a Black Knight, it's not coming out of the graveyard at all. It does not come out and then pop back in.

That's how the Animate Dead / Akroma, Angel of Wrath combo works (for now, the Masters Edition is killing it by changing the errata on Animate Dead).
Back to top
Inferno3



Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm pretty sure that the daybreak coronet stays on the academy researchers. The "enchant creature with another aura on it" only applies when you actually cast the spell. If academy researchers puts the coronet on, the coronet doesn't need to check the "enchant crature with another aura on it" because that ability only happens upon casting. The "enchant creature" part of creature auras is defined as "Target a creature as you play this. This card comes into play attached to that creature." Since you aren't playing the spell (you are putting it into play) the "enchant creature with another aura attached to it" never checks and the aura stays on the researchers. Please verify this.[/u]
Back to top
center
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 440

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The animate dead trick would bring akroma back and then the animate dead would attempt to become an aura and enchant akroma but couldn't b/c akroma has pro black
Back to top
cloysterd



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the Oracle on Academy Researchers:

"7/15/2007 You can't put an Aura card from your hand into play this way if that Aura can't legally enchant Academy Researchers. For example, you can't put an Aura with "enchant land" or "enchant green creature" into play attached to Academy Researchers (unless Academy Researchers somehow turned into a land or a green creature before the ability resolved)."


Daybreak Coronet reads "Enchant creature with another Aura attached to it." Assuming the Researcher doesn't have an Aura attached when the ability resolves, that makes it an illegal enchant for Coronet, just like it's an illegal enchant for Consecrate Land or Wurmweaver Coil. It doesn't come into play and fall off; it's an illegal play, so you can't do it at all.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rps13fanatic wrote:
I'm pretty sure that since Akroma has Pro Black, as soon as it becomes enchanted when Aninmate Dead attaches it to Akroma, state based effects are checked and it sees that Akroma has Pro Black. Soooo, no.

Like I was trying to say: Animate Dead can't be attached to Akroma. So it will return her from the graveyard, but fail to attach to her. Next time SBE's are checked it goes to the graveyard, but since Akroma was never enchanted by it, fail to take her with it. Voila, one Akroma in play without any side effects for 1B.

And yes, I'm 100% this is legal. Just in case: clicky (second question).

And note, this combo is only legal for a short while longer. The Master Edition brings Animate Dead new errata that kills the combo.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy