Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

splits



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
metroman722



Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 6:59 pm    Post subject: splits Reply with quote

if boom gets delayed, can i play bust

also

with stuffy +pariah can you take mana burn and hit oppo for damage


Last edited by metroman722 on Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
kby



Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the split card targeted gets Suspend and the 3 time counters.
Back to top
R3wind



Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 1386

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mana burn is life loss not damage.
Back to top
Mke410



Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spilt spells count as both anytime they are not on the stack, thus when it gets delayed it becomes both. Once the last time counter is removed you may choose to play either side of the card. Its basically the same thing as putting Fire//Ice on Isochron Scepter. Because as its imprinted its both, when you play it you get to choose which side.
Back to top
tomi



Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

but is it possible to counter a boom with a spellsnare??? and is it possible to counter a bust with spellsnare??
Back to top
Mke410



Joined: 22 Sep 2004
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
but is it possible to counter a boom with a spellsnare??? and is it possible to counter a bust with spellsnare??



You can counter boom with spellsnare, but you cant counter bust. Because as the spell is on the stack the only thing the game sees is the side that is being played, so when any questions are asked concerning the CMC while it is on the stack it will only see the side being played.
Back to top
googa



Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the the couple people who are obviously confused here: this has already been said, but a the individual spells of a split card only are only seen as individual spells while on the stack. in all other zones, they are the entire card.
EXAMPLE: play boom half of boom/bust. on the stack it is boom. it resolves and it put into the graveyard. in the graveyard it is the card boom/bust.
Back to top
SaTiVa
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 09 Jun 2005
Posts: 289

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

googa wrote:
the the couple people who are obviously confused here: this has already been said, but a the individual spells of a split card only are only seen as individual spells while on the stack. in all other zones, they are the entire card.
EXAMPLE: play boom half of boom/bust. on the stack it is boom. it resolves and it put into the graveyard. in the graveyard it is the card boom/bust.



almost entierly true.....but u know if u show boom/bust to riddle or to dark confidant u deal 8 or lose 8 respectivley

on the other hand if cast void targeting someone and u say 8 u wont make the discard their boom/bust.....u would discard it to a void value of 2 or 6
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy