Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dovescape and Eye of the Storm



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
PonyExpress



Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 12:27 pm    Post subject: Dovescape and Eye of the Storm Reply with quote

When you run through the copies of the spells RFG'd by Eye of the Storm, and Dovescape is out, would the copies be countered by Dovescape or are copies of a spell uncounterable?
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

with eye of the storm, whenever a player plays a spell, it gets removed from the game, then that player copies each spell RFG with Eye... it then says that player may 'play' each copy without paying its mana cost... the copies are still 'played' so they would be countered via dovescape.... im also assuming you mean if eye was out first, with a few spells under it already right? b/c after dovescape is out, anytime a spell is played period, it gets countered and not RFG via eye
Back to top
sc4rs



Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 859

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'd definitely get the tokens from the other spells triggering off Eye of the Storm, but I'm not entirely sure how they would interact, considering both effects remove the spell from the stack. If you trigger Dovescape first, then Eye of the Storm, would the first spell generate you tokens because, by the time the Dovescape trigger resolves, the spell has been removed from the game (and, therefore, is no longer on the stack to be countered?) Likewise, if you stack it in the other order, then the spell will have already been countered by Dovescape to another zone, so would Eye of the Storm trigger if it can't remove the spell from the game?

A judge to answer these questions would be nice, and preferably not someone who's just blowing wind out of their...mouth.
Back to top
SOAD



Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 235
Location: In my Comp

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats why I hate Eye of the Storm, i always get dizzy with that cardm it should be banned due to extreme rules text box
Back to top
TD



Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sc4rs wrote:
You'd definitely get the tokens from the other spells triggering off Eye of the Storm, but I'm not entirely sure how they would interact, considering both effects remove the spell from the stack. If you trigger Dovescape first, then Eye of the Storm, would the first spell generate you tokens because, by the time the Dovescape trigger resolves, the spell has been removed from the game (and, therefore, is no longer on the stack to be countered?) Likewise, if you stack it in the other order, then the spell will have already been countered by Dovescape to another zone, so would Eye of the Storm trigger if it can't remove the spell from the game?

A judge to answer these questions would be nice, and preferably not someone who's just blowing wind out of their...mouth.


It either gets RFGed by Eye of the Storm, or it gets countered by dovescape, but not both, because the spell is not on the stack when at least one of them resolves. If the same player controls both Eye of the Storm and Dovescape, then they get to choose whether the spell is countered by Dovescape or RFGed by Eye of the Storm; if two different players control them, they trigger in APIAP order (Active Player Inactive Player). So in this case, there's no choice, and whichever one (dovescape or eye of the storm) is controlled by the inactive player will actually resolve first.

Please note that regardless of which of them actually gets rid of the spell, you will still get bird tokens from dovescape and get to play all the spells on Eye of the Storm.

Quote:
thats why I hate Eye of the Storm, i always get dizzy with that cardm it should be banned due to extreme rules text box


Its not that bad if you're familiar with the rules.
Back to top
onecleanceli



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TD wrote:
Please note that regardless of which of them actually gets rid of the spell, you will still get bird tokens from dovescape and get to play all the spells on Eye of the Storm.


please explain why it wouldnt be one or the other
Back to top
TD



Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

onecleanceli wrote:
TD wrote:
Please note that regardless of which of them actually gets rid of the spell, you will still get bird tokens from dovescape and get to play all the spells on Eye of the Storm.


please explain why it wouldnt be one or the other


Because it doesn't fizzle. Neither effect targets, so the abilities will resolve as much as they can. Even if the other trigger has countered the spell, the rest of the trigger will resolve and use the last known values for the spell.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy