Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Playing a spell: Announcing and Paying costs.


Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tinefol



Joined: 09 Apr 2006
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thorns wrote:

You cannot play Thoughcast and then scarifice Sphere to pay for it.


Do you even attempt to read? Rules state that you're perfectly able to do so. Not "play", rather to announce the spell, determine the cost, play mana abilities, pay the cost, then spell is considered to be played.


Last edited by Tinefol on Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:03 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
Taoofss



Joined: 22 Dec 2004
Posts: 321

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what the other player did was perfectly legal.
Back to top
ynnus



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok so if he cannot play thoughtcast for U then im clear.

can someone post if he can or cannot play thoughtcast for U?
Back to top
Tinefol



Joined: 09 Apr 2006
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ynnus wrote:
OK so if he activates sphere first he cant play thoughtcast but if he "announces hes playing thoughtcast then uses th esphere, he can play it.

is tha tright?

exactly, the second way he's able to play it for "U"
Back to top
niknight



Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, here is how it works:

You announce thoughtcast. When you go to determine how much to pay, you have 4 artifacts on the board, so Thoughtcast is at this point locked in at U. From this point onward, the number of artifacts in play is irrelevant.

Also, during the payment step of announcement you are allowed to play any mana abilities you wish. Since Chromatic Sphere is a mana abilty, you can use it now to produce blue. You can then use that blue to pay for Thoughtcast.

Hence, the play works. Also, with Sphere, if you use it's ability during the announcement/resolution of a spell, the top card of your library is set aside until you finish announcing/resolving the spell/ability. Then you draw the card after that.
Back to top
Thorns



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 863
Location: Rath

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ynnus wrote:
ok so if he cannot play thoughtcast for U then im clear.

can someone post if he can or cannot play thoughtcast for U?

He can play Thoughcast for U as long as he has 4 or more artifacts in play.

[quote=*Tinefol*]Do you even attempt to read? Rules state that you're perfectly able to do so.[/quote]
I think you need to learn to read. He would have to sacrifice the Sphere for U before casting 'Cast, in which case he would only have 3 artifacts, driving the cost of 'Cast to 1U.
Back to top
ynnus



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is so cool. i wish i knew that when i played affinity. i started magic right before mirrodin came out.
Back to top
Tinefol



Joined: 09 Apr 2006
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thorns wrote:

I think you need to learn to read. He would have to sacrifice the Sphere for U before casting 'Cast, in which case he would only have 3 artifacts, driving the cost of 'Cast to 1U.


Perhaps you'd understand niknight better than me. If you won't, probably nothing would help Rolling Eyes
Back to top
nasa



Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cookie cutter=splatt
quit wasting time.
Back to top
Thorns



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 863
Location: Rath

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright then, thanks. I learned something new today Smile
Back to top
Magx



Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 452

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GTKID wrote:
The problem is most people play spells completely wrong.

The correct way to play a spell is announce the spell, then pay all costs.

You announce thoughtcast, it checks affinity, thoughtcast costs U. You can now sac sphere since it is a mana ability, just like using birds of paradise or a land. The players play was legal. Unlike the other guy I am actually 100% sure this is correct as I have done this play with affinity in sanctioned matches.

To repeat, the play is perfectly legal, stop arguing it. Unless this has been changed since mirrodin days like the madness/land drop rule.


ok stop arguing now.. I think he made up that VERY clear that the guy's play was correct... it's kind going to BUY something at the market... you choose what you want first and then pay... ( don't begin to talk about stealing plz)
Back to top
kfcman



Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 733

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Magx wrote:


( don't begin to talk about stealing plz)


damn...kinda cuttin me off at the knees here...
Back to top
ynnus



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

affinity owns.
Back to top
yavin1



Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ynnus wrote:
affinity owns.


kataki anyone? Affinity is such an easy MU for boros, UW tron, rock variants, and many other things. Its a decent deck if pilioted amazingly, but that is hard becuase it usualy dies at the first hint of kataki or any board clearer
Back to top
ynnus



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yavin1 wrote:
ynnus wrote:
affinity owns.


kataki anyone? Affinity is such an easy MU for boros, UW tron, rock variants, and many other things. Its a decent deck if pilioted amazingly, but that is hard becuase it usualy dies at the first hint of kataki or any board clearer


sorry i meant affinity the mechanic own.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy