Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

yisan or garruk plus mistcutter?



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Rath



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2014 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you search for Mistcutter Hydra with Yisan, it will enter play and go to the graveyard due to state-based effects. (having zero toughness)

As far as using Garruk, Caller of Beasts second ability, it will have the same end result as Yisan. Adding to X is only done during casting of the spell.
Back to top
pseudodespot



Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2014 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The hydra has converted mana cost of 1 everywhere besides the stack when it is cast as a spell with X being greater than zero.
Yisan can find a Hydra when you search for a cmc1 creature. You will get a 0/0 Hydra with no +1/+1 counters since you payed nothing for the X in its costs, so it dies right away.
But you can search and find it. Yisan's ability does not "fizzle".

Garruk would also put a 0/0 Hydra onto the battlefield with his second ability. Same reason: you did not pay anything for the X in the Hydra's casting cost.
With his first ability you can find a hydra if it is within the top 5 cards. In fact you HAVE to put it into your hand, since it is revealed.
Back to top
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 7:26 am    Post subject: Yisan, the Wanderer Bard Reply with quote

Well, since we are talking about "Yisan, the Wanderer Bard"...

When you use his ability, what happens if you don't have any creature with the converted mana cost equal to the counters on Yisan when you search your library? I guess that you just shuffle your library and the "new counter" remains on Yisan... Iguess... lol
Back to top
_Godica



Joined: 26 Nov 2012
Posts: 254

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The same thing that happens when you use a fetchland and don't have lands of the appropriate type in your library: you "fail to find," and everything else happens as the card says it does.
Back to top
Rath



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also worth noting that since your library is a hidden zone you can fail to find regardless if you have a target or not
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy