Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Far//Away and Master of Waves



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
sc4rs



Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 859

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:44 pm    Post subject: Far//Away and Master of Waves Reply with quote

On http://blogs.magicjudges.org/rulestips/, they explain the interaction between Far//Away and Gods.

Knowing that, am I correct in assuming that if your opponent controls Master of Waves, three Wave tokens, and a Frostburn Weird, and you cast Far//Away fused targeting your opponent and Master of Waves:

1) The Far part of Far//Away returns Master of Waves to their hand.
2) The Wave tokens die.
3) Your opponent must sacrifice his Frostburn Weird to Away.

If not, why not?
Back to top
pg8



Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 299

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The wave tokens actually won't die until the next time state-based actions are checked, which is after Away resolves. He can choose one of the tokens to sacrifice to Away.
Back to top
Weedmonkey



Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 324

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Wave tokens don't go to the graveyard as a state-based action until the spell finishes resolving and the active player would receive priority. Therefore, when you get to the Away part of the spell, your opponent may choose to sacrifice a Wave token if he wishes, even though they're all 1/0 at the time.

The difference between this scenario and the Gods is that the Gods all have static abilities that say they aren't creatures as long as devotion to X is less than five or so. Static abilities are 'always on', and aren't checked or dependent on things such as state-based actions or priority. Therefore, the moment devotion is less than X a God will cease to be a creature - and this can include in the middle of a spell
Back to top
sc4rs



Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 859

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gotcha.

Also, the Master of Waves' pumping ability is a static ability, like that of the Gods - so he actually would be sacrificing a 1/0 (if for example the game state cared about the toughness of the creature hitting the graveyard) but the game doesn't go "oops they're all dead" until after the spell resolves?
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Precisely sc4rs
Back to top
sc4rs



Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 859

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sweet, thanks for the clarity y'all.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy