Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Scry Question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Bande



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:57 am    Post subject: Scry Question Reply with quote

I cast Dissolve. Opponent counters. Do I scry anyway?
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The opponent counters your Dissolve? Scry is a part of the spell - you don't get to do it unless your spell resolves.

If you somehow meant they countered their own spell, the answer is the same for a different reason. If the "target spell" is not a legal target (i.e. it has already been countered and removed from the stack) when Dissolve tries to resolve, it will be countered by the game rules (i.e. "fizzle") and will do nothing.
Back to top
Bande



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I meant the first one. I thought that was right but my opponent insisted that they were separate effects so despite counter scry still took place. Glad to hear my initial thought was right, if countered no scry.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy