Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Deity of Scars's regeneration



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can activate an ability at any point in which you have priority, can pay the costs to activate it, and assuming the ability has no restrictions being broken.
Back to top
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you gatherer the card here, you can check for any rulings on the card.
As you see in the first ruling: You can pay {B/G} and remove a -1/-1 counter to activate the ability any time you want. Deity of Scars doesn't need to be in danger of being destroyed.
As I stated before, you can activate it so long as you have priority, can pay the costs (here it is {B/G} and removing a -1/-1 counter) and it doesn't break any restrictions (this card has no restrictions on its activated ability).
Back to top
Bairdsy



Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the simple answer...... yes you can
Back to top
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Activating a regeneration ability or similar things involving regeneration set up a "regen bubble/shield" in most common terms. This bubble/shield needs to be broken in order for it to regenerate (it is tapped, removed from combat, all damage removed from it, etc).
Activating Deity of Scars's ability will cause one of those bubbles/shields to form.
To activate Deity of Scars, you pay {B/G} and remove a -1/-1 counter. Once this is done, the ability is placed on top of the stack. When it resolves, it will create the above discussed bubble/shield and it will exist until it breaks or until end of turn, whichever occurs first.
You aren't required to have a reason to put regen bubble/shields on guys, you can do it for any purpose. One common standard play is to sacrifice multiple creatures to Varolz to create morbid triggers from Blood Artist. In fact, you can't even activate a regeneration ability when a creature has lethal damage on it or in the middle of a resolution of a kill spell. You have to do it in advance always and create these bubbles/shields.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy