Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Entering the battlefield ability question...



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:21 pm    Post subject: Entering the battlefield ability question... Reply with quote

Hi,

I appreciated if you could help me in this situation... I know that probably someone posted about something similar, but I couldn't found any answer to this specific situation.
Anyway...

It's simple,
I'm on my turn, and I cast a Huntmaster of the Fells, when my opponent says that in response he would play a Devour Flesh, what obviously wouldn't make any difference cause the creatures weren't on the battlefield yet, but after I explained that to him, he said that in that case he would play it in response to Huntmaster ability, in order to make me sacrifice it before I put the wolf on play and couldn't choose between the token or the Huntmaster...

His intentions are obvious... But my question is, can he do it? Play an instant in response to the "entering the battlefield" ability and make me sacrifice my Huntmaster before I put the token on play?

Thanks for your time and help,
cHaKaL-PT
Back to top
StarWolf



Joined: 28 Jul 2011
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ability goes on the stack, just like a spell would. Before it can resolve, you have to pass priority, which means your opponent has a chance to respond to it.
Back to top
cloysterd



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any ability that starts with "When" or "Whenever" is a triggered ability. Triggered abilities use the stack and can be responded to.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy