Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Gigantiform and Sacred Wolf



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Arelas



Joined: 07 May 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. Gigantiform overwrites the creature's power and toughness, but adds the ability trample (does not overwrite). "Is", "lose" or "are" overwrites text or abilities, "gains" and "has" are additive. Gigantiform would leave the creature's hexproof ability untouched.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just because something includes "is" or "are" doesn't mean it removes abilities. Copy effects overwrite whatever was there originally with the new characteristics. Other than that, for something to remove abilities it needs to say it's removing abilities. (turning something into a basic land type is an exception to this)
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy