Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Reduction of Commander damage?



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Candace



Joined: 08 Jun 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the owner of the prevention effect is taking damage from multiple sources simultaneously, he can choose which of the 2 damage to prevent. In this scenario that generally means you'll be dealing zero commander damage.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't matter who controls the prevention effect. It's the person that is being damaged that gets to choose which damage the prevention effect gets applied to.
Back to top
Candace



Joined: 08 Jun 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is what I said.
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
If the owner of the prevention effect is taking damage from multiple sources simultaneously


Not "the owner of the prevention effect" it is the person who's damage is being prevented. Not an easy way to term that in the english language. But thats how it is...enjoy!
Back to top
Candace



Joined: 08 Jun 2012
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
it is the person who's damage is being prevented.


This phrasing actually refers to his opponent. Perhaps you should stop nitpicking my statement, as you're only making an actual difference out of something that's nearly irrelevant Wink
Back to top
Egren



Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When it comes to magic rules, not only is nitpicking okay, it's obligatory Wink
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy