Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Permanents with "sacrifice" abilities



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
ransom3



Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 1:32 pm    Post subject: Permanents with "sacrifice" abilities Reply with quote

If I have a card in play with an activated ability that requires sacrificing a permanent of some sort as part of its cost (for example, Volrath's Curse), can I sacrifice that card to pay the cost of its own ability?

If I can do this, will the activated ability of Volrath's Curse still trigger?

Thanks everyone!
Back to top
pseudodespot



Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First: Activated abilities do not trigger, they become activated.

As long as the permanent fulfills the requirements of the cost, yes you can sacrifice a permanent to its own ability. For example Nantuko Husk.

The curse is a bad example, since you will normally not enchant your own permanent with it.
Back to top
ransom3



Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 185

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the fast reply and for the clarification! Just to be clear, let's try a better example: Infernal Tribute. If I sacrifice it to pay part of the cost of its activated ability, I would still be allowed to draw a card, correct?
Back to top
pseudodespot



Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you would draw a card.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 4:19 am    Post subject: Re: Permanents with "sacrifice" abilities Reply with quote

ransom3 wrote:
If I have a card in play with an activated ability that requires sacrificing a permanent of some sort as part of its cost (for example, Volrath's Curse), can I sacrifice that card to pay the cost of its own ability?

If I can do this, will the activated ability of Volrath's Curse still trigger?


Volrath's Curse only has one activated ability, "1U: Return Volrath's Curse to its owner's hand."

The ability that prevents the creature from attacking, blocking or activating its abilities and lets you sacrifice a permanent to ignore the effect (all of this is one single ability) is a static ability, not an activated ability.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy