Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Soulbond Question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
MTGmanLA



Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:06 am    Post subject: Soulbond Question Reply with quote

With Soulbound can you rebound it even if the other creature isnt dead? like if I soulbound two guys, then a turn later play another creature can I decide to move the soulbound to that creature or is it those two together until something destroys one?
Back to top
pseudodespot



Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They remain paired as long as you control both of them. No matter what. You can't drop the pairing just when you want to.
Same like you can't just unequip equipment.
Back to top
LuckyDucky



Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.wizards.com/magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/faq/avr

Quote:

The official rules for soulbond are as follows:

702.92. Soulbond

702.92a. Soulbond is a keyword that represents two triggered abilities. "Soulbond" means "When this creature enters the battlefield, if you control both this creature and another creature and both are unpaired, you may pair this creature with another unpaired creature you control for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control" and "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, if you control both that creature and this one and both are unpaired, you may pair that creature with this creature for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control."

702.92b A creature becomes "paired" with another as the result of a soulbond ability. Abilities may refer to a paired creature, the creature another creature is paired with, or whether a creature is paired. An "unpaired" creature is one that is not paired.

702.92c When the soulbond ability resolves, if either object that would be paired is no longer a creature, no longer on the battlefield, or no longer under the control of the player who controls the soulbond ability, neither object becomes paired.

702.92d A creature can be paired with only one other creature.

702.92e A paired creature becomes unpaired if any of the following occur: another player gains control of it or the creature it's paired with; it or the creature it's paired with stops being a creature; or it or the creature it's paired with leaves the battlefield.

Two paired creatures are still individual creatures in every way: they attack and block individually, they are targeted and affected by spells or abilities individually, and they change zones individually. If two paired creatures are attacking, blocking one of them has no effect on the other, for example.

Neither soulbond ability targets any creature.

You must control another unpaired creature at the moment a creature with soulbond enters the battlefield or the soulbond ability won't trigger at all. However, the creature that pairs with the creature with soulbond isn't chosen until the soulbond ability resolves.

If the pair is broken, the bonuses and abilities granted to the creatures immediately disappear. If the bonus included an increase to toughness, this may cause a creature to have damaged marked on it equal to or greater than its toughness. If that happens, the creature is destroyed.

If becoming unpaired causes a creature to no longer have an activated ability, instances of that ability that have already been activated and are on the stack are unaffected.

Certain keywords granted to paired creatures are only relevant at a specific time, usually during combat, so becoming unpaired and no longer having that ability may have no effect on the current turn. For example, if a creature with reach blocks a flying creature and then loses reach, the creature with flying will still be blocked.

A creature with soulbond may grant an ability to itself and the creature it's paired with that includes the text "this creature." In such abilities, "this creature" refers only to the creature that has that ability, not the creature it's paired with.

If a creature with soulbond is paired with another creature with soulbond, each of them will receive both bonuses.

If you control multiple unpaired creatures with soulbond and another creature enters the battlefield, each soulbond ability will trigger. Soulbond abilities that try to resolve after you pair the creature will have no effect.

If a paired creature with soulbond loses soulbond, it and the creature it's paired with remain paired.
Back to top
pseudodespot



Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reminder refers to "another unpaired" creature. For a second unpaired creature to exist, there need to be an unpaired creature number one. Don't you think so too?
Back to top
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pseudodespot wrote:
The reminder refers to "another unpaired" creature. For a second unpaired creature to exist, there need to be an unpaired creature number one. Don't you think so too?


You are right when you say that!... But many other players, (like myself I must say), could easily misinterpret the "another unpaired creature" phrase and see it like it was only referring to another creature that must be unpaired!

Of corse that if we read it with attention and interpret the text right, there are everything you must know to correctly play the game using the Soulbound ability...

But in my opinion, they could made the Soulbound explanation a little more explicit/clear, so anyone could easily understand and play it correctly!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy