Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Knowledge Pool Combos?



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:45 am    Post subject: Knowledge Pool Combos? Reply with quote

how work Knowledge Pool with Rule of Law? I think is something wrong.

What if instead of Rule of law, i have Curse of Exhaustion or Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir?
Back to top
pseudodespot



Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first combination is a hard lock for all players. Unless at least one of the two cards leaves the battlefield, which can't be accomplished by a spell, there will no spells resolve for the rest of the game.
Since the first spell cast by each player will be exiled and then the player will be given the chance to cast a second spell already exiled with the pool, which is forbidden by Rule of Law. Effects that say something can't happen take precedence.

With the curse this is true just for the cursed player.

[s]With Teferi out you opponent will be able to cast spells out of the pool, if they do it at their main phases. Since the stack is empty after the first spell was exiled by the pool, the restriction by Teferi is met.[/s]
Knowledge pool does not grant the option to cast the second spell for the rest of the turn. So that is also a lock.


Last edited by pseudodespot on Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
pg8



Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 299

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, with Teferi on the battlefield, your opponent will still be in a hard lock. When Knowledge Pool's ability is resolving, the ability is still on the stack. That isn't a time that that player could cast a sorcery, so that player won't be able to cast anything with Knowledge Pool.
Back to top
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm not sure about pg8 says
Back to top
MikeL123



Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am. He's right.
Back to top
cloysterd



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pg8 is correct.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy