Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Reshuffling Instants & Sorceries with Emrakul



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reshuffling Instants & Sorceries with Emrakul Reply with quote

It is Player 1's turn and he casts Bribery targeting Player 2.

Bribery resolves and Player 1 pulls an Emrakul, the Aeons Torn from Player 2's deck, puts it into play on his side, and ends his turn.

During Player 2's first main phase he casts Balance (Player 2 controls no creatures when Balance resolves).

Does Player 2's Balance get reshuffled into his library from Emrakul's triggered ability?
Back to top
Jacois



Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 1201

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

since player 2 is the owner of emrakul his graveyard will be shuffled back after the balance resolved which includes the balance itself.
Back to top
mchild80



Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The answer to your question is no, the Balance does not get shuffled back into your deck. When you cast a spell and it resolves, all other effects happen before the spell is put into your graveyard. This is what happens in this situation.

Player 1 cast Bribery and get Emrakul from Player 2's deck.

Player 2 casts Balance. Balance will check all situations once it resolves. If Emrakul is the only creature in play, it will die and go to Player 1's graveyard. Emrakul's ability will make Player 1 shuffle his/her graveyard into his deck. Since the Emrakul is not of his/ her deck, it will go into Player 2's graveyard, which will allow them to shuffle their graveyard into their library including Emrakul.

Stack empties, all responses and effects resolve and then Balance will go to the graveyard. Balance will be the only card in either player's graveyard. Hope that helped you on that topic.
Back to top
Darric



Joined: 17 Apr 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
608.2k As the final part of an instant or sorcery spell’s resolution, the spell is put into its owner’s graveyard.


1) Balance starts to resolve.
2) Permanents are sacrificed according to Balance's rules text.
3) Emrakul's triggered ability goes on the stack when it is sacrificed.
4) Balance goes to the graveyard as the last step in resolution.
5) Both players get priority.
6) The next spell or ability on the stack resolves; In this case, Emrakul's ability.

The spell is therefore put into the graveyard before the next item on the stack (Emrakul's ability) starts to resolve, and Balance will be shuffled back into the library.


Quote:
Balance will be the only card in either player's graveyard.


Emrakul only shuffles the owners graveyard into their library, so the other player's graveyard will at least have a Bribery in it in this case. As above, Balance will not be in the graveyard.
Back to top
EMA



Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="mchild80"]The answer to your question is no, the Balance does not get shuffled back into your deck. When you cast a spell and it resolves, all other effects happen before the spell is put into your graveyard. This is what happens in this situation.

/quote]

no.

Quote:

608.2k As the final part of an instant or sorcery spell’s resolution, the spell is put into its owner’s graveyard.


this.
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as i already said the balance gets shuffled back since it is already in the graveyard when emrakuls ability triggers.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy