Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

abilities and summoning sickness



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Junx



Joined: 12 Feb 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:03 pm    Post subject: abilities and summoning sickness Reply with quote

Background: I was playing my friend and i cast Havengul Lich and then proceeded to use its ability to bring a creature back from the graveyard. He said I couldn't do that because of summoning sickness but I said only abilities that require you to tap or untap are affected by summoning sickness. Now we're at an impasse, please help.
Back to top
Ffancrzy
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 258

PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"summoning sickness" only affects attacking and/or Tap/Untap abilities, and only with the actual "Tap" or "Untap" symbols.
Back to top
LuckyDucky



Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
302.6. A creature’s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can’t be activated unless the creature has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can’t attack unless it has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the “summoning sickness” rule.


On activated abilities: http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Activated_ability

Read the Nezumi Bone-Reader example
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since Havengeful Lich's ability doesn't require tapping to activate, you can activate it, even if the creature has summoning sickness.

You were correct in your example game.

If you have access to a computer, I would go to the #judges4you channel on mIRC they are usually on there 24/7 and will give you a correct answer pretty quick usually.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy