Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tapping Artifact vs Instant



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
jdog_fixit



Joined: 17 Jan 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:46 pm    Post subject: Tapping Artifact vs Instant Reply with quote

I'm a little confused on order of instants vs. tapping abilities.

My example:
Nihil Spellbomb vs. Ancient Grudge (flashback)

A. Tap Nihil Spellbomb
B. Cast Ancient Grudge instant from Graveyard (flashback)

Would Spellbomb's ability resolve?
If not is this because instants always cut in front of abilities. Or is it because you would not be able to sacrifice the spellbomb.

Secondly, if the situation was reversed.. would the spellbomb be able to tap and resolve before ancient grudge?
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 656

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The stack resolves "top down". That means that whatever is done last, will actually happen first. With a few rare exceptions, each player has a chance to respond before any item on the stack can resolve.

So here is your first example:

jdog activates Nihil Spellbomb, targetting Judicator.
Nihil Spellbomb activated ability added to stack
Nihil triggered ability added to stack above activated ability
Judicator casts Ancient Grudge with flashback, targetting Sword of Feast and Famine(the nihil spellbomb is already in the GY, but I CAN destroy another artifact if I want to). Ancient grudge goes on top of the stack.


Neither player has any more reponses, so the top of the stack resolves.
Sword of feast and famine is destroyed.
Next item resolves, jdog chooses whether to pay B, if he does, he draws a card.
Next item resolves, all cards in Judicator's GY are exiled.


In the reverse situation, you can indeed tap your spellbomb in response to ancient grudge being cast targeting it. In that case, the spellbomb would resolve first, then Ancient grudge would be countered on resolution because it has no legal targets.

Let me know if you need this explained in more depth or have any more questions about it. You may also want to look at the Magic: the Gathering Basic Rulebook and read a bit about how the stack works.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xJudicatorx wrote:
With a few rare exceptions, each player has a chance to respond before any item on the stack can resolve.



All players will get priority after an object goes on the stack before it resolves. There are no exceptions to this.
Back to top
blitzer2k7



Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clariax wrote:
xJudicatorx wrote:
With a few rare exceptions, each player has a chance to respond before any item on the stack can resolve.



All players will get priority after an object goes on the stack before it resolves. There are no exceptions to this.
Unless it has split second ie Krosan Grip.
Back to top
cloysterd



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
702.59a Split second is a static ability that functions only while the spell with split second is on the stack. "Split second" means "As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast other spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities."



In other words, you still get priority and CAN activate mana abilities and do anything else that isn't a spell or activated ability (unmorphing a face-down creature, for example).
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blitzer2k7 wrote:
Clariax wrote:
xJudicatorx wrote:
With a few rare exceptions, each player has a chance to respond before any item on the stack can resolve.



All players will get priority after an object goes on the stack before it resolves. There are no exceptions to this.
Unless it has split second ie Krosan Grip.


Both players still get priority, Split Second does not change that.

You can still morph Voidmage Apprentice.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy