Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

some questions



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
MTGmanLA



Joined: 31 Dec 1969
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

#1 "Pithing Needle has no activated or triggered abilities. It has a static ability that generates a replacement effect for how it enters the battlefield, but that does not use the stack and cannot be responded to." (from MTG Salvation forums)

For #2, the illusion dies regardless I believe. Because it was targetted by the spell, resolved or not.

For #3, they would have to counter each copy.

#4, 2/1/2004: The creature's power and the number of Islands you control matter only when the ability is played and resolved. After that, only the fact that Vedalken Shackles remains tapped matters. You maintain control even if it stops being a creature.
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note on #2: It is sacrificed, not destroyed.

Both Sower of Temptaion and Counterbalance have triggered abilities. You can stifle them both. But Pithing Needle only stops activated abilities, not triggered.


Notice that Pithing needle says "As *this* enters the battlefield....", this is a replacement effect.
Sower of Temptation says "When *this* enters the battlefield....", this is a triggered ability.
Back to top
arcannys



Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Generally, activated abilities are those that have an activation cost folowed by ":".
For example.
"T: Add G to your mana pool."

Triggered abilities are those that go on the stack as a consequence of something happening.

Example.
"When Sower of temptation comes into play DO SOMETHING"
or
"When a player plays a spell draw a card."

Some cards tho, have what we call a replacement effect, and read something like: "As this comes into play choose a color...", "This comes into play with X counters on it".

This effects take place right before the card is actually in play. This effects doesnt use the stack and cannot be responded to.

Example:
"As meddling mage comes into play name a card"
or
"Chalice of the void comes into play with X charge counters on it".


Last edited by arcannys on Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
foshm
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your example of Meddling Mage is wrongly worded. Meddling Mage says AS this enters the battlefield name a card.

The AS is very important. If it said WHEN this enters the battlefield it then would be a triggered ability which could be stifled. Because it is AS it is not.
Back to top
arcannys



Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woops
Fixed ^^
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy