Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and Gauntlet of Power



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Kookie_Mnstr



Joined: 09 Feb 2010
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as long as the land is basic and tapped for black mana then yes it will tap for double.
Back to top
GoneBananas
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 329

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well gauntlet of power reads: Whenever a basic land is tapped for mana of the chosen color, its controller adds one mana of that color to his or her mana pool (in addition to the mana the land produces).
It does not specify when a swamp is tapped for that color mana, therefore any basic land tapping for the chosen color of mana will do.
Back to top
Spyx



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 1188

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But if the player does not have a black general is that a legal play?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spyx wrote:
But if the player does not have a black general is that a legal play?

Huh, I'll check, but as far as I can see, he'll get two colourless mana. You can still choose to tap a basic land you have for black mana. You'll get colourless mana, but Gauntlet of Power would still trigger and give you a second black (which would then be turned colourless by the Commander replacement effect).

903.9. If mana would be added to a playerís mana pool of a color that isnít in the color identity of that playerís commander, that amount of colorless mana is added to that playerís mana pool instead.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy