Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teneb + Trample



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 4:08 pm    Post subject: Teneb + Trample Reply with quote

i give trample to Teneb, the Harvester, can i use his ability to return the creature that block teneb? How i can explane this to my friends?
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

betalotus wrote:
Teneb's ability is a triggered ability that goes on the stack when he deals the damage. His creature will die and go to the graveyard before Teneb's ability is even put on the stack, and will be a legal target.


Corrected.

The blocking creature must be in the graveyard before you put Teneb's ability on the stack in order to legally target it.
Back to top
Kewpee



Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so then he would need first strike and trample?
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After damage is dealt, state-based actions are checked. This is what causes a creature with lethal damage to be destroyed. Then, only after state-based actions are checked, Teneb's triggered ability is put on the stack. So, at the time the triggered ability is put on the stack, any creature that received lethal combat damage will already be destroyed, so (likely) in the graveyard to target with Teneb's trigger.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy