Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

WHY does trini force phyrexian?



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Selkie



Joined: 22 Jul 2011
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:07 am    Post subject: WHY does trini force phyrexian? Reply with quote

Hi;

Why does trinisphere require 3 mana to be paid, even when life is paid?

I'm looking for the exact rules as to why, thanks!
Back to top
sirkozi



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trinisphere's ability affects the total cost of the spell. It is applied *after* any other cost increasers or cost reducers are applied: First apply any cost increases. Next apply any cost reducers. Finally look at the amount of mana you have to pay. If it's less than three mana, you'll pay three mana.

mana =! life
Whatever you do to reduce cost of spell, still you need to pay 3.
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you want an imediate answer from a competent judge why not just join #judges4you and ask there.
Back to top
LordHawk



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trinisphere {3} |Artifact| As long as Trinisphere is untapped, each spell that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast. DST-R,V09-M,Vin,VinRes,Leg,Mod,Cla,ClaRes,MRDBC

to put it short, paying the 2 life is an alternate cost. Yes you played Surgical Extraction and paid the 2 life. Paying 2 life != 3 mana its an alternate cost for 1 mana. Trinisphere makes each spell that cost less then 3 to cost 3. So even playing life you will still end up tapping 3 mana.
Back to top
tchiseen



Joined: 08 Mar 2010
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mean I actually have to pay THREE mana for my Dismember???? That is so not fair.
Back to top
Kewpee



Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont think you would need to pay three for dismember, as dismember does cost three 1 (B! B!). Paying the two life isnt lowering the cmc of dismember, its just an alternate to the black mana. For example, think of spells like Spectral Procession. That spell cost (2/w) (2/w) (2/w) meaning you can pay two colorless or one W.
Back to top
DonDiggy



Joined: 16 Mar 2010
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its plain simple. Trinisphere just looks at the actual amount of payed Mana. It does NOT look at the alternative costs. (-4 Life). So with Trinisphere out, you can choose:

1) to pay 1BB
2) to pay 2B and 2 Life
3) to pay 3 and 4 Life

The Key about Phyrexian Mana + Trinisphere is to compare it with Force of Will. Be4 NPH was released, Dismember wouldve been: "You can pay 1 and 4 Life or 1B and 2 Life rather than paying Dismembers Mana Cost. And as we all know from Trinisphere and FoW, you still have to pay the missing mana.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trinisphere cares about the mana you're paying, nothing more and nothing less. Dismember's mana cost is 1{B/P}{B/P}. {B/P} represents a cost that can be paid one of two ways, either with one black mana, or two life. So when you cast dismember you can choose to pay either 1BB (3 mana), 1B and 2 life (2 mana), or 1 and 4 life (1 mana). If the amount of mana you're paying is less than 3, Trinisphere then increases this to 3.

It's a common misconception that you're paying "Phyrexian Mana." There is no such thing. There are Phyrexian mana symbols, but there is no such thing as phyrexian mana. A Phyrexian mana symbol just represents a cost that can be paid in one of two ways, one of which is mana, the other which is not mana (life).

Also, to play a Dismember by paying 1 and 4 life is not paying an alternate cost, you're paying the mana cost.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy