Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Phyrexian Revoker



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
watkins



Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:32 pm    Post subject: Phyrexian Revoker Reply with quote

can you stifle phyrexian revoker's (or pithing needle) come into play effect so that your opponent cant name a card?

similary, how does torpor orb interact with it?
Back to top
MassO



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Torpor orb stops the revoker but has no effect on the needle.

Stifle effects both triggered and activated abilities. Ask yourself this: Are they activated? meaning did you have to do something for it to happen?

are they triggered? Did something happen to make the ability activate?

People should ask themselves these questions before relying on everyone else. plus go to #judges4you in mirc and ask a judge. People make up crap in the forums!
Back to top
moscowdemon
Level 4 Judge


Joined: 18 Dec 2008
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Torpor Orb will not stop Phyrexian Revoker. Phyrexian Revoker has no triggered ability.
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you cant either stifle or prevent both abilities with torpor orb bc they arent triggered abilities. you should keep in mind everything that reads "AS enters the battle field" happens while the spell is on its way to enter the battle field and isnt a triggered ability(its neither on the stack nor its on the battlefield). everything that reads "WHEN enters the battlefield" is a ability wich goes on the stack at the time its described.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1OR513N wrote:
you should keep in mind everything that reads "AS enters the battle field" happens while the spell is on its way to enter the battle field and isnt a triggered ability(its neither on the stack nor its on the battlefield).


The card is on the stack (or in whatever zone it's coming from before it's on the battlefield) at the time the choice. When a card moves from one zone to another it goes directly from the previous zone to the new zone. There's no point in between when it is not in either zone.
Back to top
Kabelis



Joined: 27 Jun 2010
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clariax wrote:
1OR513N wrote:
you should keep in mind everything that reads "AS enters the battle field" happens while the spell is on its way to enter the battle field and isnt a triggered ability(its neither on the stack nor its on the battlefield).


The card is on the stack (or in whatever zone it's coming from before it's on the battlefield) at the time the choice. When a card moves from one zone to another it goes directly from the previous zone to the new zone. There's no point in between when it is not in either zone.


Oh, c'mon, you're just arguing semantics here. It's just a good way to imagine the "as X enters the battlefield" effects for players.
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yea that was what im trying tell. i know its not technically correct but that way everyone has a better imagination about it.
Back to top
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1OR513N wrote:
yea that was what im trying tell. i know its not technically correct but that way everyone has a better imagination about it.


Agree, but you have to pay attention to the way you write things... You said specifically that the card was "neither on the stack nor its on the battlefield", and that's what Clariax correct... The card is on stack.
Back to top
Kabelis



Joined: 27 Jun 2010
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chakal-PT wrote:
1OR513N wrote:
yea that was what im trying tell. i know its not technically correct but that way everyone has a better imagination about it.


Agree, but you have to pay attention to the way you write things... You said specifically that the card was "neither on the stack nor its on the battlefield", and that's what Clariax correct... The card is on stack.


Is there any situation in whole game where it's relevant? You won't choose the name before it resolves anyway.
I mean, it's good to be technical, but it's also good to have common sense
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kabelis wrote:
Is there any situation in whole game where it's relevant? You won't choose the name before it resolves anyway.
I mean, it's good to be technical, but it's also good to have common sense


There are situations where it is relevant that a card which is changing zones is still in the previous zone at the time replacement effects are applied, yes. This is why I brought it up.

It may make it easier in this specific situation to think of it as being neither on the stack nor on the battlefield, yes. But to use such reasoning leads (pretty logically) to using such reasoning for ANY replacement effect that replaces how something enters the battlefield. It doesn't make things any easier to tell someone that in this situation you should think about it this way to make it easier, but don't use the same reasoning in this other situation that seems like it should work exactly the same (because it is, in fact, exactly the same).
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy